Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees


Dr. Sam Pitroda, Chairman – Board of Trustees.

Dr. Sam Pitroda is an internationally respected telecom inventor, entrepreneur, development thinker, and policy maker who has spent 49 years in information and communications technology (ICT) and related global and national developments.

Credited with having laid the foundation for India’s telecommunications and technology revolution of the 1980s, Dr. Pitroda has been a leading campaigner to help bridge the global digital divide. During his tenure as Advisor to Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi, Dr. Pitroda led six technology missions related to telecommunications, water, literacy, immunization, dairy production, and oil seeds. He has served as Advisor to the Prime Minister on National Knowledge Commission and the Commission on National Innovation.

In addition, Dr. Pitroda holds over 15 honorary PhD’s, close to 100 worldwide patents, and has published and lectured widely in the United States, Europe, Latin America and Asia.

Padmashree Darshan Shankar, Managing Trustee.

Padmashree Darshan Shankar is the Founder trustee and First Director (1993-2008) of Foundation for Revitalization of Local Health Traditions (FRLHT), Bangalore. He designed at the age of 22, University of Bombay’s first Post-graduate “experiential learning program”. He engaged in S & T applications for rural development, during 1980-1992 in the Karjat tribal block, Raigad District, Maharashtra. During 2008-12 he served as the Hon. Advisor, AYUSH, to Member (Health) of the Planning Commission.

He currently serves as the Vice Chancellor of Trans Disciplinary University.


Professor Ramaswamy, Executive Director and Trustee.

Professor Ramaswamy is Dean at the Institute for Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine (inStem), National Centre for Biological Sciences (NCBS), Bangalore.

Mr. Sundar Raju, Trustee

Mr. Sunder Raju has over 30 years of exeperience in the field of establishing business in various upcoming sectors in India. He started his first venture, Sunray Computers Pvt. Ltd, in 1982, which introduced the concept of 32 bit architecture UNIX OS for the first time in India. He then built ACT from scratch, which has since emerged as one of the largest wired broadband service providers in India. He extensively worked on building the Atria Group by putting together a strong professional organization structure for scaling up at a rapid pace.

His intrinsic zeal and passion in the field of renewable energy and technology was well appreciated in the business circles of the India Inc. He currently serves as the Executive Director of Atria Brindavan Power Pvt Ltd. and the Managing Director of Atria Convergence Technologies Pvt Ltd.


Mr. Kaushik Raju, Trustee

Kaushik has been the lead banter in taking the third generation of Atria family. He is the lead partner in Intellicar (LLP), a Bangalore based vehicular telematics start-up with a vision of connecting business and customers to their vehicles. His Public Relations and ability to manage people is an asset for the Group’s growth and expansion.

Kaushik Raju conveys directorship roles in prominent businesses of the Atria Family Group. He holds directorship in some prominent companies like Hed Experts Pvt Ltd, A J Hotels India Pvt Ltd, Woodside Hotels Pvt Ltd, Vishweswaraiah Tecnical Services Pvt Ltd, Eskay Mercantile Commercial Amp Holding Pvt, Chalukya Hotels Pvt Ltd, Atria Power KRS Ltd, Atria Wind Pvt Ltd, Chalukya Holiday Resorts Pvt Ltd, Estee Carriers Pvt Ltd, Pasupati Tradevin Pvt Ltd and Vaishnomata Commodities Pvt Ltd.

Dr. N. K. Venkataramana, Trustee

Dr. Venkataramana N. K. is an Indian neurosurgeon and the founder of the ANSA Research Foundation, which is a non-profit NGO promoting research on neuroscience, neurological disorders, cancer biology, stem cells and tumor tissue repository.

He is credited with over 15000 neurosurgeries over the last 30 years. He has published over 75 papers in peer reviewed national and international journals, and has contributed chapters in various text books on neurosurgery. He has also conducted several CME programmes and delivered key note addresses at many conferences.

Dr. Venkataramana is a recipient of the Dr. BC Roy Award, the highest Indian award in the medical category, and the Rajyotsava Prashasti, the second highest civilian award of the Government of Karnataka.